Hi Ho Hi Ho…

…it’s off to SIA I go!

What a month! I have been practically nonexistent on here, for which I deeply apologise. It’s been bedlam, believe me.

I think we are long overdue for some serious scrapping tips – so here we go!

Tip: Tightly cropping photos can help you keep the focus on the “occasion” rather than the unneccessary details. It’s also good for getting the best out of some ordinary pics – even blurry or overexposed shots look oko when they are cropped.

TIP: Boy themed LO’s don’t need to be without little things like hearts and flowers – keeping the colours bright can help make the “look” a bit more masculine. If your son still complains, tell him “too bad” – you are doing these LO’s for you (at this stage) not him and I can bet he’ll be grateful for them later. Ok, much later, but still grateful! lol.

New Webster’s Pages papers – need I say more? LOVE THEM.

TIP: the new paper ranges out that have such incredible designs on them hardly need to be scrapped, let alone embellished. You could be forgiven for simply plonking your photo on the page and walking away. As you can see, I can’t do that. I would disintegrate into ash. Too hard! But this one is just kept to a minimum to allow the photo to shine.

I’m loving working with acetate at the moment. This page is clear with a Prima Mulberry paper cut out and laid around the outside edges.

TIP: Don’t be afraid to invest in an expensive paper and then chop it up. Reason 1: You only live once – why wait? Reason 2: You will always use the remainder of the paper on something else.

New papers from Scrap Within Reach. PERFECT for boy pages.

TIP: Cut out three large circles from co-ordinating papers and stick them to your cardstock base. Overstitch the edges with your sewing machine and then lift up some edges for a textured look.

First of all, can I say how much I LOVE the “Sylvester” range of papers from Rouge de Garance? Gorgeous quality, gorgeous colours and co-ordinate perfectly together.

TIP:  Try to mix up your LO shapes by introducing circles, ovals, triangles etc. I layered a transparency over the top of the circle in the background of this page, then stitched it into place. I also hand made the “Fir Tree” branch embellies – I couldn’t find any that didn’t look poxy, so I draw them on card with clear embossing pen, then covered in white embossing powder and heat gunned the lot. LOVE the effect.

Finally, this one for Mother’s Day:

This is the simplest card EVER. The new ranges of Prima stamps are fantastic to use as hand made embellishments.

TIP: For this card, I pulled out some co-ordinating Versacolour Ink blocks and double inked those Prima paisley shapes onto white cardstock. Then I simply cut them out and arranged them with some flowers on the front of the card. A few scraps of card later (with some bling of course) and VOILA! Happy Mother’s Day, Mum.

OK, that will hopefully give you all something to think about until I post again, which won’t be until after I return from SIA. I’ll hopefully have some happy snaps of some great girls and new friends made while I am there. I pomise I’ll only publish the nice ones, ladies! What is Photoshop for, anyway? 😉

I’ll leave you with a few pics of my gorgeous tribe, taken while we were out for a drive last week. Let me say this about that drive – GPS DOES have it’s limitations, it seems. I found myself at the bottom of a mountain, on a dirt road surrounded by wild mushies and wallabies. LOL. On the plus side, I would never have seen this:

Clear, ice cold mountain stream. Complete with turtles and fishies. The kids went wild. And speaking of kids, the kidlets (aka “the 4 amigos”) let me take some pics of them during the day – LOVE these:

LOL, I love you, my four amigos. You light up my days.

Take care, everyone and I’ll see you when I getback!

Sares x

2 Responses

  1. Hi Sares,

    Love the pics – they look great.
    The card looks pretty smick as well.
    Have a great time in Sydney – enjoy

  2. sigh….those layouts and card really are out of control – you know that? have a great time at SIA!!!!

Leave a Reply

