Spring Cleaning

….has got to be the most exhausting yet gratitfying job throughout the year, don’t you think?

I have spent the week washing curtains, wiping down blinds, weeding the gardens and making my DH do horrible things like MOW THE LAWN for crying out loud! Sheesh, I was starting to lose the kids in the weeds. Another problem has developed from my cleanliness – the curtains are off the windows and the dog can see in. That means as soon as our butts are off the couch late at night she is crying and scratching at the door to be let in. Before, with the curtains up we could sneak out and pretend we hadn’t seen her.  Not so this time – “I can see you! I know you’re in there! Ha!”God help me.

The rest of the week has been flat out (is there ever a week that isn’t?) with preparations for James’ birthday party on tomorrow, photo shoots, classes and canteen duty. I will NEVER get tired of a little 5 year old looking up at me with big eyes and a handful of one cent pieces that he found in the bottom of Dad’s sock draw and asking, “What can I get for this money?” Mate, you’re breaking my heart! My last canteen bill was over $25 because I had subsidised most of Kindergarten’s ice creams for the day. Sucker 🙂

Well, onto scrapping things – this week we have uploaded the Prima Sketch Challenge onto the Addicted to Craft Blog. I can’t get over how many different approaches there are to the same sketch – each one is brilliant so well done girls!

Here’s my effort:

Big-Ideas

Colourful, eh? Those flowers on the left were created using the same Prima papers and the Spellbinders Nestabilities Flower Dies.

My fave LO for this week is this one:

Summer-Boy-MME

Using My Mind’s Eye “Breaking Free” – which is quite a surfie line but I tried to make it a bit more grungy and boyish. Love it!

Last weekend saw me completing a weekend Photograohy course with Janine Kaye. Woah! The woman is a genius. My brain all of a sudden went, “Oooohhhhhhh, so that’s what that button means…”. I realised that my photos were turning out before mostly due to dumb luck. I wasn’t using half the setting on my camera and the posing and composition were little more than happy snaps – thankyou Janine for making me better 🙂

Here’s an example of one of my photos BEFORE:

IMG_0685 edit small

MEH.

Problems: Cropped too far, one kid out of focus, background still too clear, facial lighting too bright and washed out – I could go on.

This is one of my photo shoots from two days ago – AFTER:

_MG_6065 edit small

_MG_6072 edit small

_MG_6079 edit small

_MG_6100 edit small

Yay! Still, while no means brilliant they are much better shots than the previous ones. Composition, check. Lighting, check. Depth, check. Facial expressions, check. Yay again!

I had another photo shoot that same day with a little guy by the name of Olly. Omg he was gorgeous – I could not take a bad photo of him at all 🙂

_MG_5990 edit small_MG_6000 edit small

Don’t you just want to get in there and cover him in smooches?

Well, I’m going to head for bedfordshire to get myself some beauty sleep before the mayhem of 25 six year olds having a party. Am I mad? Somebody slap me!

Have a great week, everyone 🙂

Sares x

2 Responses

  1. SLAP!! 25 x 6 year olds at one party? yep you’re mad woman! but always in a good way…. LOL

    I can see the difference in those photos, I’m thinking I might have to upgrade my camera from a shoot and click to something a bit flasher in the next year or so… gorgeous pics!

  2. Hey Sares, I am so thrilled you got something out of the weekend! It was so wonderful to spend some time with you!!! xx jk

Leave a Reply

