Last Box Packed

At last I have packed up the final box of “Memory Gift Albums” and they are soon going to be heading down to Victoria. I have to tell you, I don’t know what I’m going to do with all the room in my house once they are all gone! LOL.
The Memory Gifts Project has been one of the most rewarding experiences in my life. I have never before seen such generosity and love given by people and I am very honoured to have been a part of it all.

I wanted to copy here for you the letter I have written and placed in the front of each album:

“Dear Family,

Welcome to your new Memory Gift Album.

My name is Sarah Gladman and I am a mother of 4 children.
During the time of the bushfire crisis in your home state, I was touched and saddened by the losses you, your friends and family suffered. I devised a way to help rebuild some more positive memories in your lives. The Memory Gifts Project was created so that other crafty ladies around Australia could help me, too.

As you know, some of the most precious objects lost in fires are family photos and momentos. Scrapbookers believe in the importance of these objects and spend a lot of time and money putting albums together to try and tell the stories of their children and families. I wanted to be able to give you something to help you start putting those stories back together. Of course, some of your photos and special objects may be lost but there are new photos to be taken and stories to be told as you begin to rebuild your lives.

Your Memory Gift album is a “blank” scrapbook album. Each page has been created until almost completed. The next stage is for you to place your salvaged or new photos inside. If you are missing photos, why not write about that special birthday or event? I hope that, over time, your new album will be filled with new pictures and stories that will be handed down to your children to help them to remember happy times in your family lives.
So that you can add your own special touch to your album, you are also being given a “Starter Pack” of
basic scrapbooking equipment such as adhesives, papers and embellishments. Feel free to add whatever new and improved touches to your pages using this Kit.

You may ask how we managed to get so many Memory Gift albums organized. I am happy to tell you that, when I asked my scrapbooking friends to help me create some albums, the crafting community responded immediately and so did the wider Aussie community—both here and throughout the rest of the world.
Initially I asked everyone that read my website to contribute at least one finished page. I never counted on
everyone donating at least 10 finished pages and I realized that we were looking at a much bigger project than I first imagined.

When the cut off date arrived, we finished up with a total of just over 14,000 pages, over 850 albums and over $10,000 worth of scrap booking supplies donated. I was absolutely blown away at the generosity and eagerness of everyone to help out. By the time we finished, I had received over 500 parcels (my postman was impressed I can tell you 🙂 ) from all over Australia as well as Indonesia, North America, South
America, Guam, Dubai, England, Switzerland and Canada.

I am so very proud to have been a part of this whole project.

You will see that some of the pages in your album have been signed (on the back) and some have even got a small, personal message or note of encouragement included. I hope you don’t mind that I have left them there—I felt they were a small way that
people contributing felt that they were reaching a “person” rather than just donating money.

I hope that you will accept this album knowing that, as painful as recent memories can be, we hope that life continues more positively for you and for your family. I hope that this album in a small way can help you rebuild what was lost. I also hope that this album is something you can have that is more personal. Something handmade, specifically for you, with pleasure.

With many warm wishes to you and your family,
Regards,
Sarah Gladman”

I appreciate you guys reading such a long post but I thought you would want to be witness to the end of the project and know what the families will be reading when they get their album.

So, what comes next? I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – a HUGE THANKYOU. I can’t ever repay the generosity of every one of you who donated a page, or a Kit or an album, or supplies for the Memory Gifts. The call went out for help and you all made such a huge effort to contribute. You should all feel very, very proud of what you have made because it is going to bring hours of pleasure to the families who receive an album.

I am still absolutely blown away by the amount of work that was put into the pages donated for the albums. And I have to say a special thankyou to those of you who sent me a card or a note just to thank me for my efforts – it meant a great deal to me when I received those cards. There were times when I thought I would be overwhelmed at the thought of the whole project, but I would open a card from one of you and it would brighten my day and off I would go again.

So a Big :
Photobucket

I am going to post this now so that you can all read it and then I am going to re-edit the post later with some of my latest work and some interesting new scrapping tidbits to chew on 🙂

And later on:

Here’s a few shares – for those of you who are heading up to the Papercraft Festival in Brisvegas this week, please check out the ADDICTED TO CRAFT stand and catch up with the lovely Angella Peardon, Hetty Hall, Jane Tregenza and other from our DT showing off their work using the latest My Mind’s Eye, Prima and many other brands.

Here are the LO’s that I created using the new MME 29th Street Market,Dream Street and Prima Paintable Transparencies.

29th-Street-CALM

_MG_4098

Prima-paintable-transparency-full-LO

Dream-street-LO1-all-of-the-above-full-LO

 

Have fun and happy scrapping!
Sares x

14 Responses

  1. Sares I saw these layouts up close and personal and I am so glad I did. They look terrific on your blog but they look absolutely stunning irl, the detail you put into your work is fantastic, just a petty I didn’t get to meet you irl……maybe one day..!!

    I have to say having read the note you put into the Memory gift albums made me bawl with sadness, happiness and a whole lot more emotions I have not even got words for.
    You did a fantastic job on this project and I would say the biggest THANKS goes out to you Sares, for organizing this, for donating so much of your precious time, for even thinking of this project and than making it reality, you are a beautiful soul, may karma pay you back tenfold. Just wish now we could see the looks on peoples faces when they open their precious parcels.

    Well done Sares, well done!!!!!!!

    Hugs xoxo
    Hetty

  2. I would like to add my huge THANKYOU Sarah for the enormous amount of work that you put into this project. Just contributing a heap of layouts pales into insignificance compared to what you have done. It really has been a priviledge to be part of it 🙂

    Allie Collyer

  3. sarah you rock girl! the amount of time and energy you have put into this project is phenomonal…you are truly inspiring. tatum xx

  4. It’s you that needs the congratulations!! 850 albums? just amazing… you’re an incredible person and I’m so proud to call you my friend. Well done chickie!!

    As for those layouts, they’re gorgeous – as usual!!!

    L x

  5. Look in the mirror next time you send out a HUGE thank you, cause you are at the top of the list. When I read the letter you are sending out, I got a bit teary for so many reasons. Girl, people like you are the beating heart of Australia. Stand proud, you have done something GOOD.
    Cheers, Irene 🙂

  6. OMG Sares, that was a huge amount of work on your part.

    You should be stocked that you received so much from everyone, Incredible, inspirational girl you deserve something special.

    xx

  7. No Sares – THANK YOU! Like all the other girls here have already said – you are the one who needs to be thanked. Thank you for letting us help you reach out to these people. I really felt like I was ‘hands on’ helping and it was only because of you that I could. You have done a fantastic job – and I love what you have written there in that letter – perfect!

    Now – about the convention – next year you better be there in person I tell you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! cause I missed your layouts honey 😦 Silly me.

  8. Hi Sares….You are such a generous and thoughtful person and you indeed need to be thanked for all the hard work that you have done in the preparation of sending out all those albums!! You should be so proud of your achievements for the albums that people have sent to you for the bushfire victims!!!

    And I am just home from the SC and I must say I saw your LO’s up close and personal and they are just so so gorgeous!!! Although I did miss seeing Hetty there I saw Renee up close! she was doing a demo!!! Really wished you were there so I could have met you!!! Luv Shaz xoxo

  9. Sares,

    I have lost your email address so I hope you get this before Saturday. I wont be at class as Craig’s roster has changed and he is now working, which is a real bummer. I still might pop in for a chat, but will have the ferrals. Anyway hopefully will talk soon.

    Nene

  10. Sares… you did an amazing job 🙂
    If you never scrapbook again I would totally understand LOL!
    Huge Hugs and congratulations to you and your generosity.
    Bek xo

  11. Congratulations on a FANTASTIC job. I only took part in a very small way, but it is nice to see they are heading off to Victoria and someone will get to use the wonderful work you have put into them.

  12. The time and effort you have put into this project is just amazing. You are an incredible person, and the letter that you wrote is wonderfully inspiring for those who have to start again with their new memories. It is so nice to see people Australia wide and beyond reaching out to people we dont even know.
    And your own layouts are stunning xxx

  13. What an amazing effort!
    Thank you for all your time & effort & for inspiring so many people.
    Would you mind contacting me when you have a moment please? I had a query.
    Thanking you, Suzie

  14. Oh Sarah, what a fantastic effort for you to complete this mammoth task. Congratulations and thankyou for all your time and effort and allowing us to be a part of the project.
    Your letter to all those people affected by the fires is absolutely beautiful and brought a lump to my throat and a tear to my eyes. You expressed so well what I would have liked to say to them all, thankyou you are an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

