A big Congrats….

…. to all the girls who took part in the 2008 Scrapbooking Memories Masters competition. The standard of work from some of the entrants was just superb!

Sadly, I didn’t make the list this year so I am free to show you the work I created to enter the comp.

Here it is in a slideshow:

What else have I been up to?  A lot actually, but not much of it has been scrapbooking! lol

For the past year I have been practising for our Dance concert, which was finally on last weekend. I have been dancing at the same school now for 30 years, and this year was a special one for me for a whole lot of reasons, not least of which it was 30 years since I first walked through the door of my first ballet class!

Since then I have completed all grades of Ballet, some Jazz and all Tap and my class is one of the highest regarded in all Down under. I am so proud to have been a part of it all! Good on you girls – the concert was smooth and professional and you all looked gorgeous. Congrats also to Julie and Jan who persevered through the concert despite much personal hardship. You guys are my strength and my surrogate parents – and I love you with all my heart.

So, because of my arty farty background I have been busy the past few weeks making things for the concert. Here’s a few pics to show you what I was up to:

img_1700edit-with-frame-small

img_1694-small  img_1668-small

img_1667-small

I made the jewellry box and those chipmunk heads, amongst other things. The chipmunk heads were hysterical – I had bits of fur and dismembered chipmunk all over my house for weeks. I’m still finding bits of them!

Anyway, the concert was great and a huge thanks to J & J for my gorgeous trophy and present – you spoiled me, as always 🙂

I have one more class to go before I am finished teaching for the year and then I will be playing “nurse” for a while as my DH is going in to hospital for a hip replacement on Monday. I am also going to be heading into hospital for some minor surgery soon, but I won’t bore you with the details about that.

That’s all from me for the moment. Now that the concert has finished I can post here a bit more regularly since life has returned to normal for a bit.

Take care and happy scrapping!

Sares xx

7 Responses

  1. Not sure if it is me but your slide show doesn’t seem to be working and I am dying to see your entries..

    Congrats on 30 years of dancing, that is a huge achievement Sares.

    Sending lots of well wishes to your husband and I hope your surgery is nothing too serious.

    Hugs xx

  2. thanks Hetty – yep, the slideshow is working properly now. There was something wrong with the PB version but we are all fixed now.

  3. Sares I am stunned beyond believe that you are not a Master this year………what the………is the matter with the judges eyes!?!? Your entries are STUNNINGLY CREATIVE……nobody would have done any better than you but yet again you are watching from the sidelines – it is completely beyond me.
    Thanks for sharing chooky, chin up hun, you are a Master in my eyes.
    Hugs xx

  4. Can’t believe you missed out on the masters, your layout is brilliant. 30 years of dancing……….WOW. How clever are you? Those chipmunk heads are awesome, you are smoking girl . And finally, wishing you and your DH a speedy recovery. Merry Christmas.

  5. Hi Sarah, congrats on getting a HM for your keepsake, it must feel great to be acknowledged for your hours of work on your entries, I can only dream of even making the top 100 one day, let alone a HM or Master. Love reading your posts, have a lovely silly season, Tiff :o)

  6. Hey Sares !

    Disappointed not to see you in the Top 10 ! Your work is just stunning, and I always know to come here when I need a bit of inspiration ! Congrats on your dancing and concert too !!!

    Cheers:)

  7. Too bad about the masters, but I love your submission, especially the calendar that received a HM. I gotta say, I love your work. Love it.

Leave a Reply

