Cropstar and the Paper Crafts Festival

It’s been a pretty hectic week around here for our family – we have had fundraisers at school, face painting days, herb and flower stalls, a halloween disco and more face painting!

Then, when I most needed to escape from one more “Spiderman face please” I hopped in the car and me and the girls from my Sat class went on a road trip to the Paper Crafts Festival down in Canterbury. Woohoo! Road Trip!!! We had the BEST day. Girl talk, dirty jokes, spending money and a chance to catch up with a whole lot of like minded crafty people all in the one place. Thanks girls – I had a ball with all of you and I hope you did too!

A big hello to Janine Kaye who ran our Canvas class in the afternoon, also a hello to Nikayla O’Brien and Katja Schneider who were so lovely and happy to share some crafty ideas and industry gossip 🙂 . In Janine’s workshop we painted a small canvas and played around with Reeves paint – good stuff btw – and had a great chat and a laugh. Thanks Janine! Always a pleasure being around you chooky. 🙂

I’ve also been revamping the Leonardo’s Apprentice Blog a bit – you may notice a few changes here and there. I am no longer working as a DT member for KSK as I have just got too much other stuff going on at the moment. To me, this Blog is all about “teaching” and I would like just my Upsy Daisy and Chatterbox stuff to be showcased and maybe put in a widget that shows my current published work

Anyway, moving on!

Some quickie tips for you this week:

1. Want to show off a multiple range of double sided papers on the one page?

Cut up four 5 x 5 squares of the paper and attach to your layout. Sew a simple straight stitch around the outside edges and you have a very simple but very effective layout. Trim your photos to the same size and VOILA.

2. Using German Scrap for the first time and you are unsure how to use in a layout?

Stck a quote behind one of the “door” pieces and then ink over the op with black ink to show up some of the embossing. Then you have a fantastic and one-of-a-kind embellishment!

3. Not sure how to use a whole sheet of the Prima “Paintables” watercolour paper?

Well, just paint one small section and then cut it out and use on your layout – another custom-made embellishment! These two big roses were straight off a Paintables sheet.

4. Not sure what to do with all those leftover numbers in your chipboard alpha sets?

Use them as an embellishment on your page – they are especially good for journaling. Title your page “6 things I love about you” or “10,9,8,7,6….2,1 Blast Off!” or “Hide and Seek – Coming, Ready or Not!”

Another bit of exciting news is that the CROPSTAR competition has opened up on Eidou – woohoo! There have been quite a few entrants, so come on – YOU’VE GOTTA BE IN IT TO WIN IT!

The Cropstar comp will run for 5 weeks and you DON’T have to a digital scrapper to enter or participate. The competition is open to ALL scrappers who can be either straight digi or Hybrid – you are probably hybrid without knowing it! Just altering a photo is termed hybrid scrapping – so get yourself over to Eidou and register for the comp today! The ultimate prize is a Bamboo Tablet – if you think you would never use one of them, think again – I started using mine very hesitantly and now I can’t do without it!

That’s all from me folks – I’m off to unpack all my stuff from the show yesterday – woohoo! New goodies!

Take care everyone,

Sares x

2 Responses

  1. Love your new Avatar Sares!! Love the changes here (miss you @ KSK, though!!) I have some news, though, ‘come over to my place’ & see!! 😉
    Lovin your digi designs – as always!!

  2. Love your tips!

Leave a Reply

