Hi 5 and Trigger Happy

There are some weeks when I hardly touch my camera and there are other weeks – like this week – when I am “happy snapping” almost everything that moves.

Here’s a few examples:

 

Hannah after a painting session with her nailpolish – argh! And some pretty shots of my garden in it’s first flush of spring flowers.

  

The kids out in the yard…

  

  

I could upload a heap more but you’d be asleep in no time at all 🙂

The next thing I have to show you is a photography tip.

At this time of year we begin to get organised for Christmas and all things merry. One of my favourite photos to take at Christmas is one of lit candles in a darkened room. I print them out by the truckload and then use them as background for our “family letter” amongst the Christmas cards – or even on the front of a plain white Chrissy card with a simple message on the front.

This kind of photo can be a bit trickly to do when you are not a confident photogrpaher. The best way to go about it, if you have a Digital SLR camera, is to set up the candles on a table and then place the camera on the table’s surface and click away using the self timer. This allows the camera to stay steady and you end up with a nice, sharp shot.

This photo was taken with the camera at one end of the coffee table and the candles at the other, using the self timer to take the shot.

It’s OK but it could be better.

The next step was to change the camera setting to “Sports mode” and then take the shot after turning out all the lights.

Better. But still not what I was after.

The final shot was taken with me taking the camera off the surface of the table, leaving it in Sports mode and leaning over the candles and hoping it would come out allright. It did.

And here it is with a bit of tweaking in Photoshop, ready for the Christmas cards:

So how easy that was? Ha! I hear you laugh. No, really, it is very simple to do and so quick!

But if you are feeling pressed for time, then you can pop on over to Eidou and buy this card design for only 99 cents. Cheap as chips! Then you can print out all your cards for family and friends for only a very small outlay. Simply click HERE and it will take you to the Eidou site where you can follow the prompt for purchasing.

One more piccy before I go – a traditional scrap LO using the new papers from Graphic 45 – woah! I have seen papers before but I am IN LOVE with these ones. Gorgeous!

That’s all from me folks – everyone that won a RAK from me a few weeks ago should be getting them very soon I hope.

Have a great week and happy scrapping!

Sares x

11 Responses

  1. Hi Sara, Yes i did get mine in the post on Friday thanks again.That was fab to open and see all the wonderful goodies inside.take care Kerry xx

  2. Sares, just saw your Christmas Card on the eidou site & popped over here to say YUM! & here I find your awesome photography tips!! Fantastic!! Thankyou! 😉

  3. I love your Christmas card, it is totally divine and very personal.
    It just reminds me that I have to brush up on my camera skills.

  4. Love the pics,card and the layout too. Gorgeous as usual Sarah.

  5. How is it that you can make pics of candles look cool but when I see them on a card at the $2 shop in a pack of 25 they look hideous? Amazink.
    And love that LO at the end there – good stuff 🙂

  6. Great shots! Good tip! And I love your LO! It’s so pretty! And yes, I have received your RAK in the mail!!! Woohoo!! Thank you so much!!! xxoxoxx

  7. Hi Sarah,

    I totally LOVE your blog. Is there anything that you can’t do?
    So guess what, I am passing on an award to you that I got.
    Cheers,
    Irene

  8. Oh, I forgot to say, pop on over and pick it up.

  9. hi sara!! love your blog and I had so much fun crowsing at it!!! its me cookie!! can i have you email add… just want to ask about something…. oh by the way, thanks for the welcome in scrapbooks memories!!!

  10. Hi Sarah,
    Looks like you’ve been having fun, your christmas card is gorgeous!!
    Renee

  11. wow Sarah!!! These photos are stunning! Your kids are so gorgeous! Very photogenic!
    Love the photography tutorial too!

    And of course the layout is inspiring as usual! love all the vintage touches to your work!

Leave a Reply

