Feeling Soggy

We have had so much rain over the past 10 days that if I go into the backyard, I come back 6 inches taller from all the mud on my shoes, lol. Of course, it’s school holidays, which means it’s almost a freakin’ GUARANTEE of rain, which is due to last all the way through until next week. Then the kids go back to school and then sun will come out – you watch.

Never mind – we are taking the kids out of school for a week in Term 2 to go on a holiday. Just a short break to Nelson’s bay – not far – but we have hired a house that is absolute beachfront and I am enjoying the thought of going and sitting on the beach all day, every day and watching the sun set over the water.  Bliss!

Term 1 was like the longest term EVER and we are all a bit tired. Did I tell you about Ryan’s report? Dismal. I don’t know whether I am more worried about him or more mad at his teacher. Not a word was said after we chatted in week 3 of the term about him having difficulties.

I am struggling with the role of being a “parent” when my kids are at school – as a teacher I look at things a different way than a non-teacher parent does. My expectations seem to be so much higher and I am far more critical. So I am very careful to keep away from the teacher’s and let them do their work, but this one I had to say something to. I just asked why she hadn’t communicated to me that there were problems and it was obvious that she felt I already knew, or should have known. How? ESP?

I better stop talking about it otherwise I’ll just get steamed up all over again. It just added to the stress of the last half of the term, which was something I did not need. And I don’t want to bore you all with that sort of stuff – it’s not what you all come here to read, is it?

SO – on to other things.

I have been a bit busy this week at KSK, doing some of the first challenges I have been asked to set up for the site. The first thing I started was the next challenge for the Little Book of Everything, a project started a while ago with some fantastic challenges to try out.

Check out the Little Book of Everything threads in the Forum HERE.

And here is my sample for the first challenge of the LBE:

 Photobucket

I hate that poxy photo of me – it’s time to get a new one, it makes my schnoz look humungous!

I am also getting ready to start work on the Art Journal’s section of the Forum – somewhere for my Tips and Techniques to find a focus at last! I will be kicking off the journal in the next week or so, so keep your eyes peeled ON THIS.

AND HERE’S SOMETHING EVEN BETTER!!

Karen (bosslady over at KSK) has decided to run a fabulous Fundraiser for the ASTHMA FOUNDATION. Curious about how you can help?

SIMPLE!

The rest of the Design Team at KSK and myself will be holding an auction to raise money for the Foundation – all you need to do is place a bid on the DT member you would like most to create a PERSONAL LO FOR YOU.

Yes! Good – O Idea, hey? You can check out the Auction HERE.

What other news? Oh, I got some LO’s and a mini book picked up by Jo over at Scrapbooking Memories this week, so they should be out for Father’s Day this year. Cool bananas.

I have decided to try my hand at using my Versatool – gulp. Watch this space for pics of me with burn marks all over my fingers and hands. 😉 I really want to get into the new “Heavy Metal” Industrial Look that scrappers and stampers use – Tim Holtz calls it “Industrial”, which I think is pretty appropriate. So I have bought some slides and some solder and I am ready to practice this weekend.

Some scrapping Lo’s that I have completed this week are here:

Just wait by Sarah Gladman

This Lo uses the new CoreDinations Cardstock that everyone is talking about – it rubs/ sands off another colour underneath. In this LO I crunched a strip of it up and then sanded off the top edges to reveal the other colour.

Ryan by Sarah Gladman

This LO uses the new WeRMK “White Out” collection of papers and embies. It’s not a paper line I would normally choose, but I am happy with the result. The colours certainly suit boy LO’s.

That’s all from me, folks! take care out there this weekend, wherever you are in the world.

Sares xx
 

5 Responses

  1. Hi Sares, long time no blog, lol! Have been having a great time reading your blog, your layouts are devine as always, you are my greatest inspiration. My appologies for not popping in more regularly. I hope you and your family are well.
    Hugs
    Hetty

  2. Hi Saras
    Sorry to hear you are having school problems… believe me, know all about them…very frustrating. Your new layouts pretty cool…:)

  3. Oh Sarah, school problems are a nighmare! ((hugs)) to you (and your son of course – that is unless you want to strangle him ; D).

    Layouts are divine as always – I LOVE the industrial look that’s out – can’t wait to see what you get up to with it!

    xxJillGG

  4. Hope things will look up soon ! Great lo’s tfs !

  5. “I am also getting ready to start work on the Art Journal’s section of the Forum – somewhere for my Tips and Techniques to find a focus at last!

    I’m so sorry you feel this way as we really loved your tips at “E” and couldn’t wait for Fridays with a new TIP. I can’t tell you how much you were valued. YOU ROCK!!!

    I am sure that you will enjoy your new challenge of KSM and good luck with all your dreams!!!

Leave a Reply

