Postcard from the Edge

I think I completely understand the movie “Postcards fromo the Edge” with Shirley Maclaine in it – I believe I may have reached a tiny bit past my tippy top stress level this week.

For example – Thursday. Thursday hasn’t happened yet, but I am dreading it. I know it may end up being an extraordinarily bad day but I am trying to stay positive. I am going to start the day reading to the kids at school, then to the Dentist’s for three (yes, people, THREE) fillings, then back home to pick up the cat and go to the Vet’s where we have to put her down, then off to have a doctor’s appointment then back home in time to shower, change, whip up dinner for 6 and then head off to teach a scrapping class from 6:30pm. Yikes!

Why do I do this to myself, you ask? Quite simply, I have no choice, since DH has been working 4 days a week instead of 3. That might still sound like I have a whole day off to do nothing but hang about the house, but actually it means fanging about Maitland trying to do all those chores that are seemingly impossible with three kids in tow. I mean, WHO in their right mind would want to take a child with them to the Dentist’s when said child can barely stop wriggling for two seconds put together?

I believe that child would end up scaling the dentist’s chair in an effort to ” see what the doctor’s doing to your mowf, mummy” and then would probably do back flips off the surgical light and play meccano sets with his tools. I know Dr.Harvey is a patient man, but he may draw the line at the drill being shoving down his sock.

On the home front – well, there is no news to speak of. What would you like me to tell you? That DH cleaned the oven and I unpacked the dishwasher for the 50th time this week? Yes, riveting stuff.

I can tell you that I decided in a fit of activity last weekend that I decided to try and clip the dog myself.

Well.

Let’s just say that, as an experiment, it was none too successful. First of all, I nearly shaved off the dog’s nose.  I was trying to attach to comb to the clipper and she shoved her nose nearly all the way up the inside of my shorts and into my…ahem….crotch. In the ensuing scuffle, I politely told her to remove her nose from my nether regions (read: “For F**k’s Sake, Lucy!!! Get out of it you damn maniac dog!”) and then proceeded to push her away with my hand. I forgot, apparently, that the same hand held the clippers and I nearly (but not quite) shaved an inch off her nose.

To show you how successful the clipping episode was, here is a picture of Lucy BEFORE she was clipped:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

and this is a photo of Lucy AFTER she was clipped:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

and just to prove that I am a kind person, I gave her a bath (the cat looked pretty smug about that):

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

and here’s a close up of her nose just so that you know it is still “intact”:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

So, I guess it would be safe to say that not a whole lot of scrapping has been happening this week! lol

I did get some new storage boxes, but I’m not going to bore you with pictures of those. But I am starting to get the studio into a more “organised” space, which can only mean that it looks tidier and I work smarter.

On Embellished this week we are up to the 6th Round of Idol – and this one is a doozy – to create a “Hybrid” LO. Hybrid can be a pretty loose term and I think it can extend as far as digitally enhancing your photographs to using a full blown Digi Kit. I’m a bit of a “full blown” girl myself (in more ways than one! lol). So here is my example from this week’s Hybrid Challenge, and keep those scrapping fingers happy girls!

Have a great week all and take care for now,

Sares xx

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

One Response

  1. Ok OK OK I am trying not too successfully I may add to stop giggling after reading this. I will now always imagine kids shoving drill’s into a dentist’s sock whenever I am there. Poor Lucy…she is still a cutie though. Just remember to breathe hun!

Leave a Reply

